11 Taco Bell Gluten Free Menu Items

Fast tacos, Crunchwrap Supremes, chalupas, and other delicious late-night fare are all popular at Taco Bell. Fast food restaurant business Taco Bell was founded in 1962 in Irvine, California, by Glen Bell. It is based in the United States. 

Waffles, pancakes, omelets, and french toast are among the morning options available at Taco Bell as well as the usual burritos, tacos, quesadillas, nachos, as well as other Mexican food.

11 Taco Bell Gluten Free Menu Items

Though Taco Bell is renowned for its delectable food, did you know that they also provide gluten-free options (see also ‘11 Gluten Free Options To Order On Your Next Visit To Five Guys‘)? You should absolutely check over their menu if you or somebody you care about has celiac disease. 

Coeliac disease is a disorder in which the body reacts badly to it. Wheat, rye, barley, and other grains all contain gluten. Celiac disease patients cannot consume these items without incurring serious health issues.

There are now more than 2,500 restaurants around the US that serve gluten-free tacos. The business provides a variety of gluten-free corn tortillas made from ingredients like rice flour and potato starch (see also ‘What Can I Use Instead Of Potato Starch? 5 Amazing Substitutes‘).

We’ll highlight all the Taco Bell menu options, sides, as well as other gf options accessible in this article.

Want to know more about the items at Taco Bell (see also ‘16 Taco Bell Menu Items That Are Keto-Friendly‘) in terms of nutrition and allergens? Visit their webpage for information on dining at Taco Bell while avoiding gluten.

These are all of the gluten-free items Taco Bell had to offer. According to Taco Bell’s webpage on how you can avoid gluten, all of the foods mentioned below don’t include wheat or gluten. 

Please be aware that there is still a chance for cross-contamination and other residues of gluten in these products.

Additionally, if you’re following a keto diet, Taco Bell offers keto-friendly menu items, so you can explore their keto options as well.

What Is Taco Bell?

Fast food is a convenient and affordable option for dinner when people are pressed for time. The average consumer has a wide variety of fast food options. The North Americans are the best at fast food, though!

From juicy fast-food burgers to crunchy fried chicken, American fast-food restaurants are well-known throughout the world. 

It is typical to come across a McDonalds in a bustling metropolis or a Starbucks tucked away in a peaceful neighborhood. Because of their flavors and effectiveness, American fast-food chains are adored worldwide.

Despite the fact that Americans are renowned for their hotdogs and hamburgers, there is one fast-food establishment that serves neither of these items yet is nevertheless adored globally!

Taco Bell began as a 19-cent food stand in the city of San Bernandino, California, and now there are over 7,500 locations worldwide! Taco Bell has been well-known because of its American-style tacos ever since it opened its doors in the 1960s. 

Customers are accustomed to its crisp exterior encasing tasty beef mince and crisp iceberg lettuce. Taco Bell has developed a reputation for other inventive products over the years, such as the Crunchwrap Supreme. 

Fans of Taco Bell’s cuisine may be interested in learning more about the restaurant’s unique past, which begins with Glen Bell’s interest in authentic Mexican tacos.

The History Of Taco Bell

The well-known lifestyle brand that Taco Bell is now didn’t always exist. In actuality, Glen Bell was the one who came up with it. Glen was a businessman who ran several eateries in California, such as a hamburger and hot dog stall in San Bernardino. 

He wanted Americans to have more options for fast food than just the typical hamburger.

Glen was particularly interested in finding a means to differentiate himself from the competition considering that McDonald’s was only two miles away and was well-known.

He observed a long wait at Mitla Cafe in 1948 from people eager to try the $0.10 tacos across the street. Locals recognised Mitla’s taco as a specialty: a taco filled with shredded beef, lettuce, and cheese. 

Glen frequently ate there out of curiosity and tried to recreate the Mitla’s taco dish. After gaining the proprietors’ trust, he was allowed to show Glen how to prepare their renowned tacos in the cafe’s kitchen.

Glen developed his own kind of tacos using all he learnt from the Mitla Cafe’s proprietors. He established his own taco stand in 1951. 

Americans who aren’t familiar with tacos—or Mexican food in general—could try Glen’s crunchy handheld delight for $0.19. The tacos were well-liked.

He eventually launched a proper restaurant in San Bernardino, precisely at 7112 Firestone Boulevard, with great success in 1962. After experimenting with other names, such as Tia Taco or El Taco, “Taco Bell” was finally chosen.

Customers are now aware of Taco Bell’s catchphrase, “Live Mas,” which the corporation describes as a unique way of “doing more and demanding more.” 

According to that adage, the American restaurant today serves 40 million customers per week from over 7,000 locations across the US and 500 locations across 30 other countries. 

Taco Bell describes its business as a lifestyle company that provides burritos, tacos, and tacos in the American-style. They also offer vegetarian and healthy options on their menu to cater to customers who want a plant-based diet.

The crunch of the taco shell contrasts nicely with the crunch of the iceberg lettuce as well as the sharpness of the cheese with the tasty beef that has been seasoned.

There’s something delectable about the tacos at Taco Bell, much like the craft of preparing pizza.

Many concur that Taco Bell may not always be the best place to find genuine Mexican food. Nevertheless, whether it’s in the U.S. or elsewhere, it continues to win over a lot of fans of fast food.

What Is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is a dangerous condition in which your immune system targets its own tissues when you consume gluten. The gut lining is harmed as a result, making it difficult for the body to effectively absorb the nutrients in food. 

Celiac disease is not an allergy or food intolerance. One in 100 people have the common condition of celiac disease. 

However, only 36% of those who have the disorder have received a diagnosis, meaning that there are currently up to 500,000 people who have celiac disease but are unaware of it.

The likelihood increases to one in ten if a first-degree relative, such as a mother, father, sister, or brother, has the disorder.

If you have this disease, then you cannot eat gluten – which means you need to be much more careful about your food choices. Many restaurants and supermarkets now cater for gluten-free diets, however, not all of them do.

That’s why it’s very important for those that suffer from celiac disease to check the menus at restaurants properly to make sure that they won’t be consuming any gluten in their meals.

While this can be difficult in many restaurants, places like Taco Bell offer an extensive menu of gluten-free choices.

It’s important to note that while the particular foods mentioned in this article do not contain gluten, you can never be 100% sure that cross contamination with other ingredients has not occurred.

What Taco Bell Menu Items Are Gluten Free?

What Taco Bell Menu Items Are Gluten Free

Taco Bell (see also ‘13 Tasty Taco Bell Items You Need To Add To Your Order‘) offers a wide variety of sides, all of which are free of wheat or gluten.

Sauces And Salsas

These are all the Taco Bell salsa and sauce alternatives without wheat or gluten-containing components.

  • Avocado ranch dressing
  • Chipotle cream sauce
  • Jalapeno cream sauce
  • Hot sauce pack
  • Mild sauce pack
  • Hot ranch sauce


These are all the different Taco Bell ingredients that don’t include wheat or gluten: 

  • Refried beans
  • Seasoned rice
  • Black beans with guacamole 

To suit your preferences, you can create personalised bowls and other products. We suggest: Crispy Tacos, Nachos, and Power Menu Bowls.

Taco Shells

  • Crunchy Taco Shell
  • Nacho Chips
  • Doritos Locos Tacos 
  • Tostada Shell


  • Eggs
  • Beef
  • Crumbled sausage
  • Bacon


  • Lettuce
  • Jalapenos
  • Onions
  • Tomatoes


  • Reduced-fat sour cream
  • 3 Cheese blend 
  • Creamer

Other Gluten-Free Ingredients

The rest of Taco Bell’s gf menu items that don’t include wheat or gluten include the following:

  • Power Bowl Menu (chicken, steak, veggie)
  • Crunchy Tacos 
  • Black Beans and Rice 
  • Hash Browns
  • Doritos locos tacos (nacho cheese flavor only)


These are all the Taco Bell beverages that are free of wheat or gluten.

  • Wild strawberry lemonade
  • Blue raspberry freeze 
  • Wild strawberry freeze
  • Mountain Dew blast freeze
  • Fountain beverages: Pepsi, Mountain Dew, Diet Pepsi, Dr. Pepper, Sierra Mist, Gatorade, Tropicana, Brisk
  • Orange juice 
  • Lipton unsweetened iced tea
  • Regular iced coffee
  • Premium hot coffee

How Do Taco Bell Staff Prepare Your Gluten Free Meal?


Meat is enclosed in shells to prevent air exposure while cooking. Typically, the meat is packed into a shell, which is typically made of plastic, and then placed in a pan. The meat won’t dry out during cooking thanks to this method.


Vegetables are often prepared in an oven or on a stovetop. Vegetables are cooked on the stovetop by being put right on the burner and turning them often until they are soft. 

The vegetable pieces are put into a baking tray and liquid water is put inside the bottom of the tray when using an oven. The dish is then placed in the oven to slowly cook. 


Typically, fruits are cooked on a stovetop or in an oven. The fruit is put into a baking tray and covered with foil when done in the oven. The dish is then put into the oven to cook gradually. On the stovetop, stir the fruit often until it’s soft by placing it right on the burner.

Dairy Products

Typically, a saucepan or skillet is used to heat dairy products such as milk, cheese, yogurt, butter, ice cream, sour cream, cheese, ricotta, and crème fraiche. 

While other dairy ingredients are warmed in a skillet at a low heat, milk is warmed in a saucepan on a medium heat.

What Is Cross Contamination And Why Is It Important?

For people who have gluten-related illnesses, the inclusion of gluten, a protein present in rye, barley, wheat, and their derivatives, can be troublesome even in minute amounts. 

Eliminating obvious gluten exposures is the initial step in addressing gluten-related diseases, but it’s also crucial to prevent unintentional exposure through cross-contamination. 

When food is cooked on shared surfaces or with equipment and cookware that have not been fully cleaned after handling gluten-containing items, cross-contamination occurs. 

When baking or cooking, whether at home or in a commercial kitchen, it is possible for gluten-containing flours to go airborne and land on surfaces, cutlery, and gluten-free products.

Cross Contamination Prevention Methods

When working in a communal kitchen where gluten-containing meals are also cooked and/or consumed, there are precautions to take.

Making sure that staff members fully comprehend how critical it is to maintain foods and specific kitchen equipment gluten-free is essential.

When it is feasible, one strategy is to designate a gluten-free section in the pantry and/or refrigerator, preferably on the top shelf. 

By placing gluten-free products on the top shelf, you can avoid having gluten-containing food crumbs or bits fall onto the gluten-free components and possibly contaminate them. 

It is also helpful to keep any cookware and utensils that will be used solely for gluten-free cooking in a separate location from any potential cross-contamination sources.

When eating out at establishments that have not obtained certification through a programme like the GFFS programme run by the GIG, it is especially crucial to be aware of cross-contamination. 

Calling ahead and speaking with the personnel personally to determine the possibility of cross-contamination is advised. Being exposed to gluten can be avoided by being informed and talking with those around you. 

Even though the idea of avoiding cross-contamination could seem daunting, it is a crucial component of preserving health and wellbeing for people who have gluten-related diseases and is unquestionably achievable.

How To Ensure Your Meal Is Gluten Free At Taco Bell

Here we’ve listed some pro advice and a concise rundown of Taco Bell’s gluten-free policies (see also ‘16 Taco Bell Menu Items That Are Keto-Friendly‘)

  • Taco Bell’s nacho cheese dorito locos tacos and crunchy tacos are excellent gluten free choices.
  • To ensure that your meal is prepared with care, let them know if you suffer from an intolerance or Celiac Disease.
  • Although most meats are gluten-free, be cautious of cross-contamination.
  • On the site Find Me Gluten Free, Taco Bell does have a lot of negative reviews, which suggests that most customers had a bad experience there. 

Typically, this is caused by staff members not comprehending the requests. We advise being cautious and only ordering things you believe to be secure. Or try a more secure restaurant like Chipotle.

Final Thoughts

We hope that this article has helped you to learn more about the gluten-free menu options available at Taco Bell, so that you can enjoy a meal out at one of the most popular fast food chains in the world without worrying about coming into contact with gluten.

Follow Me
Latest posts by Jenna (see all)